Why Self-Acceptance Is Key To Fulfilling Relationships

How Prioritizing My Well-Being Made My Creativity Blossom

Redefining Love
4 min readJan 10, 2024
Photo by JM Lova on Unsplash

My ex-husband couldn’t read my writing. “It’s marketing bullshit,” he would say, “I can’t read it.” It was hard to hear, but I swallowed it. In my mind, I always wondered if he was right. Was my writing authentic? Did it help anyone? Did it make a difference?

I started writing the second I learned to hold a pencil. First, it was scribbles. Then I learned letters, and what I wrote developed meaning. I wrote poems, diary entries, movie scripts, and essays. Even in adulthood, no matter what my full-time career was, writing was always there to process whatever was happening in my life. Expressing myself creatively through writing has always been a crucial part of me and my values, but I didn’t realize just how important it was until much later.

Over time, the role of creativity in my life became more and more significant. I started noticing that I felt increasingly anxious when I didn’t write anything. The anxiety disappeared the minute I would somehow express myself — by drawing a picture, playing the piano, or publishing an article.

Creativity has always been a part of me. I needed to accept and learn to love it, even if others…

--

--

Redefining Love

I write about my personal experience with polyamory and open marriage. Read full story in my book "My Journey to Polyamory And Back" available on Amazon.